Food

Seven Days of Sourdough – Day 7: Traditional Sourdough Bread

Sourdough Bread

The day has come! The final bake: sourdough bread. After a week of yummy treats, I was eager to get on to the main attraction.

Cultures for Health’s Traditional Sourdough Bread, complete with a video tutorial, seemed like a good place to start.

After the franken-caccia debacle, I tried to be especially careful with how much water to use. The recipe called for 1 to 1 1/2 cups, but after an initial 1/2 cup, my dough was already super-sticky.

Oh well, on to kneading. I added flour as I went along, trying to pass the “window pane test”. After 30 minutes of kneading and adding what seemed like cups of flour (I lost count), my window pane was still an epic fail.

Having completed my cardio workout for the day, I was committed. 4-24 hours is quite a large window for proofing, so after about 10 hours when the dough didn’t seem to be rising anymore, I made the call. Into the oven it went.

Verdict: The flavor was good but it was dense as a brick. I should keep it around just to whack intruders on the head with. I probably messed up the knead and proof time. Along with a gazillion other things. I am little disappointed.

So to recap, here’s how I would rank the week’s baking experiments (with #7 being meh and #1 being I just died and went to heaven):

#7: Traditional Sourdough Bread

Sourdough Bread

#6: Impossible Sourdough Chicken Pie

Filling

#5: Sourdough Banana Almond Bread

Sourdough Banana Bread

#4: Sourdough Focaccia with Rosemary and Kalahari Salt

Sourdough Focaccia with Rosemary and Kalahari Salt

#3: Sourdough Crackers

Sourdough Crackers

#2: Sourdough Pancakes

image

#1: Long-Fermented Sourdough Cinnamon Rolls

Sourdough Cinnamon RollsSo it was definitely worth feeding and nurturing Sourdough Sam for a week. He’s back in the fridge now in hibernation. Until our next adventures!

Leave a Reply

